VAMA: Localizing World-leading Automotive Steel and Pursuing Innovative Development

In the year 2021, the start of the 14th Five-Year Plan period, the CPC Hunan Provincial Committee initiated and implemented the strategy of “Constructing Three Hubs and Making Four-pronged Achievements” as the guiding principle and guidance for action for the development of Hunan during the 14th Five-Year Plan period and even longer. Crowned as “the Pearl in Central Hunan Province”, Loudi takes the steel and equipment manufacturing industries as the key driver to thoroughly implement the provincial development strategy.

 

Industrial development must keep pace with the times. Advancing in four directions (electric vehicles, smart vehicles, connected vehicles and shared vehicles), the automotive industry is ushering in a new round of development. Traditional automakers such as GAC, BAIC and BYD are forerunners in developing NEVs while new auto-making forces are also rising, such as NIO, Lixiang and Xiaopeng. In this context, as an important player in the auto supply chain, Valin ArcelorMittal Automotive Steel Co., Ltd (VAMA) is also faced with new opportunities and challenges.

 

Transnational Partnership: Introduction of AS-coated Hot-stamping Steel Technology into China

 

In recent years, PHS and HSS products have become new weighting factors in the automotive market competition.

 

As described for car body safety of Haval H6, won its 8th SUV annual sales champion and the 93rd SUV monthly sales champion in March, 2020, it boasts “top-level passive safety” equipped with PHS up to 2,000 MPa, one-piece PHS door ring plus 71.61% HSS body. VOYAH, a high-end smart electric vehicle brand of Dongfeng Motor Corporation, launched its first car model FREE, which highlights its front and rear door beam with 2,000 MPa AS-coated PHS, making it the first of its kind in the industry, and a “BIW with up to 31% PHS of 1,500 MPa and above” …

 

Whoever has PHS of higher strength and higher proportion will produce cars of higher safety.

 

This can be explained by a set of data here. The tensile strength of ordinary high strength steel is about 400 to 450 MPa, while that of PHS is around 1500MPa, which is 3 to 4 times that of ordinary steel. The conflict between strength and ductility of high strength steel is successfully solved by the forming and strengthening steps of the hot-stamping steel technology. However, after heating and stamping under more than 900 ℃, the steel plate becomes very susceptible to surface oxidization, causing great impact on welding, coating and other processes, and posing great difficulty in the subsequent treatment.

 

▲ 铝硅镀层热成形钢广泛应用于车身安全结构件

Developing technological solutions to this problem cost great time and efforts. It was not until 1999 that the AS-coated PHS product Usibor®1500 was invented by ArcelorMittal’s Research Center for Hot Rolled Products in Fos-sur-Mer, France. The AS-coated hot-stamping technology can not only effectively prevent the formation of oxide skin, but also absorb impact energy produced by collisions. This technological innovation from “0” to “1” not only ensures the strength and resilience of the vehicle, but also provides an optimal solution to lightweight design and safety performance of the vehicle.

 

In 2006, the Mittal Group and Arcelor Steel Group merged into ArcelorMittal Group (hereinafter referred to as ArcelorMittal). Cooperation of the two global steel giants makes ArcelorMittal a forerunner of the industry by virtue of its technological advantages and large scale. New high-strength steel products such as AS-coated PHS are widely used in many models of Volkswagen, Ford, GM, Honda, Nissan, Fiat Chrysler and other auto makers, leading the market as a representative configuration for safety performance.

 

At that time, China, with an emerging automotive market driven by a full consumption momentum, saw rapid growth in automotive production and sales, and was ready to experience a shift from a big manufacturing country into a manufacturing power house.

 

▲ 一流的高强钢生产基地

Right then, an offer was made to ArcelorMittal by Valin Steel, a large enterprise group jointly established by three major iron and steel enterprises in Hunan Province – XISC, LY Steel and HYST at the end of 1997, which ranks top ten among iron and steel mills in China. As the world’s leading automotive steel supplier, ArcelorMittal again joined the partnership, continuously producing new high-strength steel products to drive the development of the global automotive industry.

 

On both sides of the partnership, one provides huge market potential of the world’s largest car manufacturing power and the other provides sources of world-leading technologies and raw materials. In 2009, Valin ArcelorMittal automotive steel project gained official approval, marking the commencement of a transnational partnership.

 

VAMA Phase II:Expanding the Production Capacity of Hot-stamping Steel, and Breaking through the Bottleneck of Cold Stamping Steel in Strength

 

In 2010, Valin ArcelorMittal Automotive Steel Co., Ltd (VAMA), a joint venture between ArcelorMittal and Valin LY Steel, was established. With a strong parent company, VAMA is born with a mission to bring world-leading automotive steel solutions to China.

 

Since SOP in 2014, VAMA, as a high-end automotive steel manufacturer focusing on technological innovation, has developed from a single product to a full range of automotive steel grades, including advanced high-strength steel (AHSS) and ultra-high strength steel (UHSS) as well as competitive products such as Usibor®1500, Usibor®2000, and Ductibor®1000 to meet the varied needs of domestic OEMs.

 

On February 1, in the spring of 2021 in Loudi, VAMA Phase II project officially kicked off. Leaders of CPC Hunan Provincial Committee and the Provincial Government, CPC Loudi Municipal Committee and the Municipal Government, representatives of both shareholders of VAMA and senior executives of VAMA jointly witnessed the official commencement of the Phase II project. VAMA Phase II project aims at the world's cutting-edge technology of high-strength and light-weighted automotive sheet, to build a new continuous galvanizing line with 450kt capacity per annum, which is a major industrial project to develop "three hubs". Hunan CPC Committee and Hunan provincial government attach significant importance to the project, Loudi CPC Committee and Loudi municipal government strongly support it, and both shareholders actively advance it. Today, the project kicks off construction as planned, which is just in time. Mr. Cao Zhiqiang, Chairman and party secretary of Valin Steel, expressed at the groundbreaking ceremony.

 

The total investment of Phase II project is said to be more than 1 billion yuan, with such main products as the 3rd generation galvanized high strength steel, AS-coated PHS, and Zn-Al-Mg coated products. After SOP, the annual production capacity of PLTCM will be increased from 1.5 to 2 million tons, and the production capacity of CGL and CAL from 1.15 to 1.6 million tons. After the launch of Phase II products, the product structure will be further optimized.

 

According to relevant statistics, the annual demand for hot-stamping steel is about 4 million tons globally, and 1.2 million tons domestically. As more and more OEMs are incorporating hot stamping steel to safety parts and safety structural parts, the demand for hot stamping steel in the domestic market is still growing. In order to better satisfy and cater to customer needs, the production capacity of hot stamping steel will be further expanded in VAMA Phase II.

 

From “0” to “1”, it requires innovation, and so does it from “1” to “N”. During the localization of AS-coated hot-stamping steel, VAMA also sets its eyes on cold-stamping steels, which is experiencing a recovery in the automotive industry. Cold stamping steels do not require large amounts of energy for heating during stamping and can provide the strongest protection at the lowest weight. However, cold-stamping steels have long faced a bottleneck in strength, that is, their formability becomes less desirable over 1, 000 MPa. Through technical efforts of the VAMA team for many years, VAMA Phase II launched a new product: 3rd generation cold stamping steel Fortiform®?, which has both good formability and high strength.

 

Meanwhile, the launch of Zn-Mg alloy-coated products brings more choices for the design of lightweight car body. “After comprehensive consideration of cost, anti-corrosion and formability etc., we see that Zn-Mg alloy coated products can further meet our demands for UHSS and exposed parts.” said a leading auto maker, who is currently negotiating relevant cooperation, further demonstrates the innovative strength of VAMA.

 

Strong support from the parent company empowers VAMA’s accelerated localization of world-leading automotive steel, and moreover, strengthens its confidence in innovation. ArcelorMittal has 11 R&D centers and more than 1,300 professional R&D personnel across the globe. Every year, ArcelorMittal invests large amounts of money in the research and development of automotive steel, creating numerous “world’s only new products”. In addition to providing steel to VAMA as upstream supplier, Valin Group has also provided great support in VAMA’s localization process.

 

Recently, ArcelorMittal and Valin Group have planned to sign an Agreement on Deepening Cooperation in the presence of the State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission of Hunan Province. The parties are committed to providing critical support for the sustainable development of automotive steel and developing VAMA into a leading supplier in the domestic automotive steel market.

 

New Energy Era: Upgrading Products and Solutions, and Developing New Customer Strategies

 

In 2014, the first domestic small-angle crash test was publicly performed in China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATARC).

 

In this test, two cars, including the Honda Acura MDX, had their front door rings hit by external force, and produced very significant contrast. The one without hot stamping steel door ring design was deformed so badly that the cab door could no longer be opened, while the Honda Acura MDX’s door area remained largely intact after the collision with a “safe space” formed at the cab, so that the driver could easily open the door.

 

The front door ring is a critical position for the survival of front passenger, thus called the “life ring”. In 2014, Honda Acura MDX adopted VAMA’s one-piece PHS door ring solution, attracting great attention of the industry and winning global design award. Unlike the design of typical A and B-pillars consisting of 3 to 7 parts, VAMA uses the latest manufacturing technology to produce cold and hot stamping steel, which are welded together through laser welding technology before being stamped into a single piece. In 2020, VAMA’s one-piece PHS door ring was applied for the first time to the 3rd generation Haval H6 of domestic brand Great Wall Motors. At present, the design has achieved reasonable weight reduction and created safer cars that are already running along streets in China.

 

▲ 一体式门环解决方案

As history rolls on, the wheels of industry development never stop turning.

 

From the national policy of “energy conservation, emission reduction, and low carbon economy” imitated in 2019 to the official release of the New Energy Vehicle Industry Development Plan (2021-2035) by the General Office of the State Council in November 2020, lightweight, energy conservation and emission reduction of automotive steel have become a future trend. According to estimate by experts, with the upgrading of consumer market and demands, China’s auto market will maintain at least an annual growth rate of 6% in the next ten years, and the car body will be upgraded with the 3rd generation AHSS and 2nd generation PHS.

 

For enterprises, only by focusing on new technological breakthroughs can they keep up with the pace of the times and truly realize sustainable development. Closely following industry trends, VAMA adjusts product processes and design accordingly to support its customers throughout the vehicle life cycle and help them meet the challenges of the market. In addition to the innovative one-piece PHS door ring solution, VAMA has also introduced an innovative product, the super exposed part, which can greatly improves the painting appearance performance.

 

▲ VAMA成品库

It is worth noting that VAMA has been committed to localizing new products and solutions. With the help of the expert team under the early vendor involvement (EVI) service mechanism of ArcelorMittal and VAMA’s Technical Support Team, VAMA will provide auto makers with customized services and integrate its steel solutions into their vehicles.

 

Specifically, one and a half to two years before production, VAMA engineers will begin working with automakers to design the most advanced and up-to-date steel grade for their new models, and ensure that the new model meets the challenging emission standards in accordance with policy for mass production.

 

After the NEV trend, all-electric mileage and the proportion of 2,000 MPa coated steel have become highlights in advertising the launched new models. If mileage is related to cost, power consumption, charging speed etc., then the strength and proportion of hot-stamping steel can effectively improve passive safety of the car body.

 

Presently, VAMA is engaged in cooperation with a number of NEV makers, the role of advanced high strength steel (AHSS) and laser welding technology is again given full play in body weight reduction, and crash safety performance. The application of the innovative S-In Motion® NEV solutions that can accelerate the upgrading of the NEV manufacturing sector has also become a focus of Phase II project.

 

“The new auto-making forces have a highly innovative spirit and they tend to think outside the box, which will be more interested to the application of the 3rd generation high strength steel,” Fernando said. Though the new auto-making forces have very limited sales, they are developing very fast. He believes that the NEV era will come sooner than expected. For this reason, VAMA’s customer strategies are also upgraded accordingly. In addition to adjustment to steel grades and solutions, in the future, 50% automotive steel sales of VAMA will serve NEVs.

 

Innovation means not only closely following market trend and providing customers with new steel products and new technical solutions, but also opening the door for innovative talents.

 

“The key to innovation is to encourage the team to always be innovative and always try to think outside the box.” Fernando continued that bringing in innovative talents will help VAMA better localize its technologies and develop products based on carbon neutral and peak carbon emission goals. In his opinion, this is the key to achieving phased goals as the era of intelligent manufacturing 4.0 approaches, and an important factor for enterprises to remain competitive in the market.

 

The Key to Reconstructing the Automotive Industry Chain is the Coordinated Development of Enterprises

 

At present, the global automotive industry has shifted from traditional R&D competition to competition in the ecosystem. Effective operation of the industrial chain is a prerequisite for profit, as well as a precondition for participants in all links of the industrial chain to obtain benefits. As the automotive industry advances in four directions (electric vehicles, smart vehicles, connected vehicles and shared vehicles), the key to sustainable development of a company is the collaboration and sharing with partners at different levels and in different ways while continuously building up strength and core competitiveness.

 

In cooperation with upstream steelmakers, VAMA gives them suggestions on product R&D and upgrading closely centering on market demands so as to help them meet higher quality requirements of better automotive steel. VAMA works closely with Valin Group’s subsidiary LY Steel, by consuming the locally supplied hot-rolled substrates and providing suggestions on product upgrading for LY Steel with the technical support of ArcelorMittal.

 

As an upstream supplier of automakers, VAMA has established cooperative relationships with mainstream joint ventures and domestic brands across the country, and has been in close cooperation with renowned domestic and overseas brands such as Haval, Volkswagen, Mercedes-Benz, Nissan, Toyota, Honda, GM, Volvo, Ford and Hongqi. "VAMA’s competitive AS-coated hot stamping steel has been widely used in various models of FAW-Volkswagen. The stable quality, and significantly shortened transportation time due to local production have guaranteed efficient production for us," said Gao Yang from the planning department of FAW-Volkswagen, one of the strategic partners of VAMA. Speaking highly of the cooperation with VAMA, Gao also expressed, "I hope VAMA can realize early mass production of steel for exposed parts and make more contributions to localization."

 

Regarding the development of supply chain, VAMA and Gonvarri, a world-leading  advanced automotive steel processing solutions provider, established GONVVAMA, a supporting enterprise in the extended downstream industry chains, in 2016. GONVVAMA has set up four processing service sites in Shenyang, Chongqing, Loudi and Changshu to provide customers with customized advanced high-strength steel, and the blanking and laser welding services for exposed parts.

 

As a leader in the industry, VAMA has been promoting the establishment of a standardized system for automotive steel production and independent intellectual property rights. By October 2020, VAMA had established 13 industry product standards, obtained more than 30 utility model patents, and developed more than 80 new products including those filling the gap in China's domestic high-end automotive steel market. It is fair to say that VAMA has played an exemplary role in promoting energy conservation and emission reduction in the automotive industry, resource conservation and comprehensive utilization in the whole community, as well as adjustments to automotive steel structure.

 

VAMA has made progress by leaps and bounds in the past 11 years from the establishment of the team in 2010 to VAMA CEO Fernando’s introduction of WCM, an advanced management concept, to help determine the team's vision, that is, to become the number 1 steel solutions provider in China. Thanks to patent authorization and technical support from ArcelorMittal, VAMA has filled the gaps in China's high-end automotive steel market and promoted the replacement of imported products. Nowadays, VAMA has become not only an indispensable player in the automotive supply chain, but also an important builder of the automotive ecosystem.

 

Looking ahead, "VAMA strives to be among the top three in the industry in terms of comprehensive strength (products, scale and size) within 5 years, and the first in terms of technology and innovation." These are the goals of phased development established by VAMA in the context of the national "14th Five-Year Plan" and the provincial strategy of “Constructing Three Hubs and Making Four-pronged Achievements”.

 

The future is already here. As the journey of localizing the world's leading automotive steel goes on, VAMA, the ecosystem builder, will keep marching along the innovative development path.

VAMA:先进汽车板国产化推动者一直行走在创新路上

2021年是“十四五”开局之年,湖南省委部署实施“三高四新”战略,并将其作为“十四五”乃至更长一个时期湖南发展的指导思想和行动纲领。被誉为“湘中明珠”的娄底位于湖南省中部,以钢铁、装备制造产业为抓手,深入对接实施全省发展战略。

 

任何行业的发展都紧跟时代的脚步。当汽车新四化(电动化、智能化、网联化、共享化)扛起大旗,汽车行业的发展迎来新一波浪潮。广汽、北汽、比亚迪等传统车企强势领跑新能源,蔚来、理想、小鹏等造车新势力崛起。与此同时,作为汽车供应链上的重要一环,华菱安赛乐米塔尔汽车板有限公司(以下简称VAMA)也迎来了新的机遇与挑战。

 

跨国“联姻”:铝硅镀层热成形钢技术走入中国

 

近年来,在汽车市场的角逐上,热成形钢、高强度钢的应用成为着重看点。

 

2020年3月份斩获第8个SUV年度销冠和第93个SUV月度销冠的哈弗H6,在其关于安全车身的描述中,在“最高2000M兆帕热成形钢+一体式热成形门环+71.61%高强度钢车身”的多重加持下可谓“碉堡级被动安全”。东风汽车集团旗下高端智能电动车品牌岚图推出的首款车型FREE在推广文案中强调车门防撞梁为业界首次采用2000兆帕带铝硅涂层热成形钢,且“白车身1500兆帕以上热成形钢占比高达31%”…..

 

谁率先冲进更高兆帕的热成形钢赛道,谁应用热成形钢占比高,谁就拥有了更高的安全系数。

 

用一组数据说明.普通高强度钢板的抗拉强度在400-450兆帕左右,热成形钢抗拉强度为普通钢材的3-4倍,在1500兆帕左右。热成形技术通过成形和强化2个步骤成功解决了高强钢强度与塑性的矛盾。然而,钢板经过900多摄氏度加热、冲压后,表面易产生对焊接、涂装等工序有极大影响的氧化皮,且后续处理难度极大。

 

▲ 铝硅镀层热成形钢广泛应用于车身安全结构件

技术探索之路阻且长,直至1999年,安赛乐米塔尔位于法国滨海福斯热轧产品研究中心发明的铝硅镀层热成形产品Usibor®1500问世方才破解这一困境。铝硅镀层热成形技术既能有效避免氧化皮形成,又可吸收汽车受碰撞产生的冲击能量,这项从“0”到“1”的技术创新在保证汽车的强度和韧性的同时,实现了整车轻量化和安全性能的最优解。

 

2006年,米塔尔集团和安赛乐钢铁集团合并为安赛乐米塔尔集团(以下简称安赛乐米塔尔),全球两大钢铁巨头强强联手后,凭借技术优势和庞大体量稳居行业前列,带铝硅镀层热成形钢等新型高强钢产品广泛应用到大众、福特、通用、本田、日产、菲亚特克莱斯勒等众多汽车厂商的多款车型中,并引领市场成为安全性能的代表性配置。

 

彼时,处于新兴汽车市场的中国,以饱满的消费热情拉动汽车产销进入快速增长通道,即将经历从制造大国向制造强国的转型。

 

▲ 一流的高强钢生产基地

就在此时,华菱钢铁向安赛乐米塔尔抛出了橄榄枝。华菱钢铁是我国十大钢铁企业之一,是1997年底由湖南三大钢铁企业–湘钢、涟钢、衡钢联合组建的大型企业集团。作为全球领先的汽车用钢供应商,安赛乐米塔尔的新型高强钢产品持续推动全球汽车产业发展,强强联合的“戏码”再次上演。

 

在合作天平的两端,一端是世界汽车制造第一大国的巨大市场潜力。一端是世界领先技术和原料采购渠道。2009年,华菱安赛乐米塔尔汽车板项目正式立项,一段跨国“联姻”就此开启。

 

VAMA二期:热成形钢扩产能,冷成形钢新产品解锁强度“紧箍咒”

 

2010年,华菱集团和安赛乐米塔尔的合资公司华菱安赛乐米塔尔汽车板有限公司(VAMA)诞生。强大的母公司背景,使其一出生便肩负使命–将全球领先汽车用钢综合解决方案带到中国。

 

从2014年正式投产至今,作为专注于技术创新的高端汽车用钢生产商,VAMA从单一产品发展到覆盖汽车用钢全系列品种,其中包括先进高强钢(AHSS)和超高强度钢(UHSS)以及Usibor®1500、Usibor®2000、Ductibor®1000在内的拳头产品,满足国内主机厂的诸多需求。

 

2021年2月1日,在娄底的春天里,VAMA二期正式开工。湖南省委省政府、娄底市委市政府相关领导、VAMA两大股东方代表以及VAMA高管共同鉴证了二期项目的正式开工。“VAMA二期项目瞄准国际顶尖的高强度、轻量化汽车板用钢技术,新建一条年产45万吨连续热镀锌线,是打造‘三个高地’的重大产业项目,湖南省委省政府高度重视,娄底市委市政府大力支持,股东双方积极推进。今天,项目如期开工建设,可谓恰逢其势正当其时。”华菱集团党委书记、董事长曹志强在开工仪式上表示。

 

据了解,二期项目总投资逾10亿元,主要产品为第三代镀锌高强钢、铝硅热成形钢、锌镁镀层板等。项目投产后,酸轧线产能将由每年150万吨提升到200万吨,镀锌线和连退线产能将由115万吨提升到160万吨。二期产品上线后,产品结构将得到进一步优化。

 

据相关数据统计,全球热成形钢年需求量为400万吨左右,中国热成形钢年需求量为120万吨。随着越来越多的主机厂将热成形材料放在安全部件、安全结构件上面,热成形钢材在国内市场的需求仍在不断增长中。为满足和更好匹配客户需求,VAMA二期规划中热成形材料将进一步扩大产能。

 

从“0”到“1”是创新,从“1”到“N”也需要创新。在将铝硅热成形钢推进国产化的同时,VAMA将目光瞄向经历汽车行业复苏的冷成形钢。冷成形钢在冲压过程中无需耗费大量能源进行加热,并能够满足以最低的重量实现最强的保护。然而,一直以来,冷成形钢在强度上存在“紧箍咒”–一旦超过1000兆帕,成型性会不及预期。在VAMA团队多年的技术攻克下,VAMA二期推出新产品第三代冷成形高强Fortiform®?,在保证超高强度级别时兼具良好的成型性。

 

与此同时,锌镁合金镀层产品的推出,将为汽车车身轻量化设计带来更多选择,“在综合考虑材料成本、抗腐蚀性能和冲压性能等多重因素下,锌镁合金镀层产品能进一步满足我们对超高强钢和外板的需求。”某一线汽车厂商表示,目前相关合作正在洽谈中。VAMA的创新实力再次得到印证。

 

来自于母公司的支持,是VAMA推动国际顶尖汽车板国产化的动力,同时,也是始终保持创新的底气。安赛乐米塔尔在全球有11家研发中心与超过1300名专业研发人员,每年投入大量资金用于汽车板的研发,拥有大批“世界唯一的新产品”。华菱集团除了在供应链上游为VAMA提供钢材供应外,还在VAMA本土化过程中给予了众多支持。

 

近日,安赛乐米塔尔和华菱集团拟在湖南省国资委的见证下签署《深化合作协议》,各方承诺将给予汽车板可持续发展的关键支持,将VAMA打造为中国汽车钢材市场排名领先的供应商。

 

新能源时代:迭代产品、解决方案,制定全新客户策略

 

2014年,国内首次公开小角度碰撞试验在中国汽车技术研究中心展开。

 

在这场测试中,包括本田讴歌MDX在内的两辆车的前门环位置受到外力撞击后,实车对比效果明显。采用无热成形门环设计的车辆车门区域变形严重,驾驶室门已无法打开。本田讴歌MDX在发生碰撞后,车门区域基本完好,驾驶室形成“安全屋”,司机可以轻松打开车门。

 

前门环位置是前排乘客的生存位置,被称之为“生命之环”。2014年,本田讴歌MDX采用的VAMA一体式热成形门环解决方案备受业内瞩目,并一举斩获全球设计大奖。不同于一般A、B柱等由3-7个零件组成的设计,VAMA运用最新制造技术生产冷、热冲压板料,并通过激光拼焊技术将它们焊接在一起,依次冲压成型为一个零件。2020年,VAMA一体式热成形门环首次在国内本土品牌车型长城汽车第三代哈弗H6上应用。目前,应用这款设计实现合理减重、更加安全的汽车已经奔跑在中国的大街小巷上。

 

▲ 一体式门环解决方案

历史滚滚向前,行业发展的巨轮从未停止。

 

从2019年 国家推行“节能减排,低碳经济”政策,到2020年11月国务院办公厅正式发布《新能源汽车产业发展规划(2021-2035年)》,汽车用钢轻量化及节能减排成为未来趋势。据专业人士预测,随着消费升级的市场需求逐渐走高,中国汽车市场将在未来十年保持至少6%的年增长率,车身向第三代先进高强钢和第二代热成形钢升级。

 

对于企业来说,专注于新技术的突破才能跟上时代脚步,也才能真正实现可持续发展。紧跟行业发展趋势,VAMA适时调整产品工艺和产品设计,在车辆生命周期的所有阶段为客户提供支持,帮助客户应对行业市场的挑战。除了创新性提出一体式热成形门环解决方案,VAMA还推出创新产品-超级外板Ultragal®?,极大程度的提高油漆外观性能。

 

▲ VAMA成品库

值得注意的是,VAMA一直致力于将新产品和解决方案本土化。通过安赛乐米塔尔供应商先期介入(EVI)专家团队和VAMA技术支持团队为汽车制造商提供定制化服务,将VAMA开发的钢材解决方案整合到所生产的汽车当中提供支持。

 

具体操作上,在新款车型生产往前推1年半到2年的时间点上,VAMA工程师便开始和汽车制造商一起工作,为新款车型设计最先进、最新的钢材品种,且能保证新款车型在量产后符合政策规定的具有挑战性的排放标准。

 

新能源汽车引领风潮后,纯电动续航里程的比拼,2000兆帕带镀层钢应用占比,皆成为新车上市后宣传的重点。如果说续航里程关乎使用成本,综合功耗,充电速度等因素,那热成形钢的强度及应用比例则能有效提升车身被动安全性。

 

目前,VAMA同多家新能源车制造厂商的合作渐入佳境,先进高强钢(AHSS)、激光拼焊技术在车身减重、碰撞安全性能方面再次发挥价值,能够加速新能源汽车制造领域的迭代升级的应用创新性S-in Motion®电动汽车解决方案也成为二期工作重点之一。

 

造车新势力们富有创新精神,倾向于打破很多以往的固有思维VAMA第三代高强钢的应用将更加迅速”费尔南德称,尽管现在造车新势力们的销量还非常有限,但发展势头迅猛。他相信新能源汽车时代的到来会比人们预期的要快。对此,VAMA的客户策略也进行了相应迭代升级,除了在钢种、解决方案上的调整外,未来VAMA将会有50%的汽车板销量服务于新能源汽车。

 

创新是紧跟市场趋势为客户提供新钢材产品,新技术解决方案,更是对具有创新能力的人才“敞开大门”。

 

创新最关键之处在于鼓励团队始终坚持创新,始终致力于跳出盒子去思考。”费尔南德称,引进创新人才可帮助VAMA更好的实现技术本土化,同时结合碳中和、碳达峰等目标进行产品研发。在他看来,这是在智能制造4.0时代即将到来的当下实现阶段性目标的关键,也是企业在市场竞争中立于不败之地的重要因素。

 

汽车产业链重构,企业协同发展是关键

 

立足于当下,全球汽车行业竞争由传统研发生产模式向生态圈竞争转变,产业链的有效运转是创造收益的前提,也是产业链各个环节参与者有所获益的条件。当汽车“新四化”扛起时代大旗,在不断做实、做强核心竞争力的同时,与合作伙伴进行不同层次、不同方式的协同与分享,成为企业可持续发展的关键。

 

在和上游钢铁企业的合作中,VAMA始终坚持以市场需求为导向,给到钢企关于更好研发产品,升级产品的建议,使其满足生产更高端汽车用钢的质量要求。VAMA与华菱集团子公司涟钢紧密合作,消化吸收本地供应的热轧基板,并在安赛乐米塔尔技术支持下为涟钢提供产品升级建议。

 

作为汽车厂商的上游,VAMA与全国主流的合资品牌和自主品牌都建立了合作关系,与哈弗、大众、奔驰、日产、丰田、本田、通用、沃尔沃、福特、红旗等中外知名品牌厂商展开深度合作。“VAMA的优势产品铝硅涂层热成形用钢已经大量应用于一汽大众旗下各个车型,质量稳定,国产化后大大缩短了运输时间,为我们的生产提供了高效的保障。”作为战略合作伙伴之一的一汽大众汽车有限公司对与VAMA的合作做出了高度评价,规划部高阳表示,“希望VAMA早日实现外板用钢量产,为国产化再做贡献。”

 

在供应链建设上,自2016年起,VAMA与世界领先的汽车板先进加工解决方案提供商Gonvarri成立下游延伸配套企业GONVVAMA,在沈阳、重庆、娄底、常熟等四处设立加工服务点,向客户提供定制化先进高强钢及汽车外板的落料和激光拼焊服务。

 

作为行业领军者,VAMA不断推进汽车板生产标准体系及自主知识产权建设。截至2020年10月,VAMA建立行业产品标准13个,先后获得实用新型专利30余项,相继开发出包括填补了中国国内高端汽车板市场空缺的80多个新产品。可以说VAMA为我国汽车行业的节能减排及全社会资源的节约及综合利用,以及汽车用钢结构的调整起到了良好的示范和推动作用。

 

从2010年团队初步成立,到VAMA CEO费尔南德引进WCM这一先进管理理念帮助团队明确愿景–成为中国汽车用钢综合解决方案最佳供应商,这是VAMA突飞猛进的11年。得益于安赛乐米塔尔的专利授权与技术支持,VAMA填补了中国国内高端汽车板市场多项空缺,推动实现进口替代。如今,VAMA不仅成为汽车供应链上不可或缺的一环,更成为汽车生态中的重要构筑者。

 

展望未来,“VAMA要在5年时间内,基于产品、体量、规模的综合实力,做到行业中的前三名,同时,力争做到技术和创新领域的第一。”这是在国家开启“十四五”规划,湖南推出“三高四新”战略的大背景下,VAMA据此树立的阶段性发展目标。

 

未来已来,国际顶尖汽车板国产化的征程永不止步,生态构筑者VAMA的创新之路也在延续。